Organized by The Institute for Advanced Architecture of Catalonia and HP.

240 proposals from 91 countries were evaluated through the internet from October to December by the following jury members of the 5th ADVANCED ARCHITECTURE CONTEST:

Aaron Betsky, Architect. (Cincinnati, USA).

Areti Markopoulou, Architect. IaaC Master Program Director

Daniel Ibañez, Architect, Iaac Factulty IAAC

Eric Owen Moss Director, SCI-Arc; Eric Owen Moss Architects (Los Angeles, USA)

J.M. Lin, Architect. The Observer Design Group. (Taipei, Taiwan).

Josep Mias, MIAS Architectes. (Spain).

Kim, Young Joon, Architect. Korea

Lucas Cappelli, Architect. Director of the Advanced Architecture Contest.

Manuel Gausa, Dean IaaC. Architect. Spain

Nader Tehrani, Director School of Architecture MIT (Boston, USA)

Neil Gershenfeld, physicist. MIT, Cambridge, MA, USA

Rodrigo Rubio, Architect Iaac Factulty, IAAC. Spain

Tomas Diez, Director FabLab Barcelona

Willy Muller, Architect. Director Barcelona Regional.

Each juror has selected a first, second, and third prize, and honourable mentions in some cases. The jury voted on a total of 20 proposals.

The jury has decided to award the following contestants:

The first prize has been awarded to the project WALKING CLOUDS designed by Josiane Crampe and Ji Won Jun (Canada).

The second prize is for the project F.R.A. FLOATING RESPONSIVE AGRICULTURE designed by Javier Ponce (Guatemala).

The third prize is for the project THE ANT TRIBE designed by Junqin Lian (China).

The jury has agreed to give 4 honourable mentions to the following proposals:

- CLIFF DWELLINGS – Roman Jesus Cordero Tovar and Izbeth Katia Mendoza Fragoso (Mexico).

- Self sufficient PARASITE city – Hana Svatos-Raznjevic, Yen Ju Timothy Tai and Sean.J Kim (Croatia).

- THE ENERGY OF TRAFFIC – Shurui Yan, Licheng Wang, Zhaolun Yang and Yuchen Liu (China).

- SWARM URBANISM – Kenichi Kabeya (Japan)

The jury would like to thank the effort carried out by all contestants, and encourages the development of ideas which transform cities into more efficient and stimulating environments for the human life.

People’s Choice Award:

In parallel to the 5th Advanced Architecture Contest, the Institute for advanced architecture of Catalonia (IaaC) and Hewlett-Packard were also running a Peoples Choice Award. Submissions were displayed online to be viewed and voted on by the public.

Finally the most popular image and the winner of the HP Designjet web connected Printer is the project SELF SUFFICIENT re.HABITAT (ID: we5mdb) by Adam Myczkowski and Anna Jurkiewicz (Poland) which received 2166 votes (likes) from the public.

1 walking-coulds-1

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


six × = 24


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>