MAA 2013-14 Inauguration Lecture_ERIC OWEN MOSS

moss-finales2ERIC OWEN MOSS

Too much is not enough

16th of October

19.00, @IAAC Auditorium

Open to the Public

Eric Owen Moss was born and raised in Los Angeles, California.  He received a Bachelor of Arts from the University of California at Los Angeles. He holds Masters degrees in Architecture from both the University of California at Berkeley, College of Environmental Design and Harvard University’s Graduate School of Design.

Eric Owen Moss Architects was founded in 1973. The office, located in Los Angeles, is currently staffed with 25 professionals designing and constructing projects in the United States and around the world. The firm has garnered over 100 local, national, and international design awards.

Moss was honored with the Academy Award in Architecture from the American Academy of Arts and Letters in 1999. He received the AIA/LA Gold Medal in 2001. He is a Fellow of the American Institute of Architecture and was a recipient of the Distinguished Alumni Award from the University of California, Berkeley in 2003. In 2004 he received the Dedalo Minosse International Prize in Milan.  In 2007, he received the Arnold W. Brunner Memorial Prize, recognizing a distinguished history of architectural design.  In 2011 he again was awarded the Dedalo Minosse International Prize for Samitaur Tower in Los Angeles.  Also in 2011 he was awarded the Jencks Award by the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA).  In 2012 Moss received the International Design Award for Samitaur Tower, and the AIA|LA 25 Year Award for the Petal House.

There are 16 published monographs on the Eric Owen Moss office, including three by Rizzoli and one, Gnostic Architecture by Monacelli Press. Most recent are Eric Owen Moss – The Uncertainty of Doing, published by Skira in 2006; Eric Owen Moss – Provisional Paradigms, published by Marsilio in 2007; and Eric Owen Moss – Construction Manual (1988-2008), published by AADCU Press in 2009, and Eric Owen Moss, l Maestri dell’Architettura, Hachette, Italy, 2012.   Who Says What Architecture Is?, volumes 1 and 2 were published in 2012 by AADCU Press.

Eric Owen Moss first taught at SCI-Arc in 1974, and was appointed director in 2002. He has held chairs at Yale and Harvard universities, and appointments at the Technische Hochschule in Vienna and the Royal Academy in Copenhagen, and the UAE.  He received the Most Admired Educator Award from the Design Futures Council in 2013, and The AIA|LA Educator of the Year in 2006.  Moss continues to teach at SCI-Arc, and to lecture around the world. 


This entry was posted in IAAC event, Lecture Series and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


4 × = thirty six


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>